Exploring some trails!

31 Mar

Good day everyone!

A much needed rest yielded more responsive legs.  I would by no means call them fresh and snappy, but they got the job done; after the first few miles of the run, the junk cleared out and they performed well, especially the calves.  Now, there is one thing I haven’t mentioned, and that’s my plantar fasciitis.  Well, rolling my foot on a golf ball and frozen water bottle has helped tremendously, and I am confident that the already-diminished pain will be eradicated before the month of April concludes.  My left foot (that’s the one with plantar fasciitis) felt surprisingly good today.  There was still a good deal of pain and stiffness, but it is much less than what I’ve been experiencing for the last three+ months.  Mind you, I never once stopped training on my troubled foot, so even the smallest improvement is greatly appreciated.  The pain in the plantar fascia disappeared a few times today for the first time in at least four months of running.

Anyway, all that got me off topic.  By “exploring” being in the title, I mean that I found a new extension to the trail I train on nearly every day that increases the length from 5 miles to 8 or so, which will more comfortably accommodate my longer runs.  It is much more scenic than the first five miles, and since it is still being developed, the next three miles of the trail are still untouched by everyone but me.  At least, that is how it seems.  In any case, no one seems to have any interest in checking out the next three miles, so I am having loads of fun basking in the silence and mystery of new trail.

After logging a lower mileage week this week, I am looking forward to running once more tomorrow (if time permits) and getting back out there next week.  My calves seem to be improving after all that I’ve thrown at them the last three weeks, with all the new running form, shoes, and whatnot.  At the very least, I am learning some very good lessons on training and injuries, and getting a good base of mileage built up for my fall marathon.

Ok, enough for now.

Next week, I’ll be posting an initial review of a new pair of shoes I recently acquired, the Brooks Pure Connect’s.  I will continue to post about my daily training, and start to give you an idea of how it is to be a vegan runner as well.

A’ight, cheers and keep running!

gda

Leave a Reply

