Week of April 1 – 7 Recap

9 Apr

Hello everyone!

Logged a solid 53 miles last week, making it the largest mileage week of this year’s buildup.  I am hoping to be in the 65-85 range before starting my marathon training in mid-June.  My upcoming races are the Mountain Goat 10 Mile (early May), Green Lakes Sprint Triathlon ( mid June) and the Utica Boilermaker 15K (mid July), and my over-arching goal the Empire State Marathon (early October).  I am probably going to race at least five more races (mostly 5K’s) between now and the Empire just as fitness tests and/or social races that mean little to me as far as time and place are concerned.

So, 6 days of running last week didn’t do any damage that I can see, which is best attributed to an easier week before last week.  I’ll do a few more high mileage weeks before tapering for the Goat 10 Mile.

As far as gear is concerned, I have this list that keeps growing, comprised of “Needs” and “Wants.”  Sadly, most of the items have made a place on the “Needs” list. :D  A new GPS watch, replacement long run shoes (probably the Brooks Pure Flow), and a few other necessities are anything but cheap, but compared to many other sports, running is quite inexpensive.

OK, that’s all for today.

Keep running!

gda

4 Responses to “Week of April 1 – 7 Recap”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ April 9, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    That’s awesome! What’s your goal for mountain goat? I’ve heard it’s a brutal course-I’m still trying to find someone to run it before the race sometime with me :-)

    • gda April 9, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      I am not too interested in an amazing time, but I know that as soon as I get on the start line I’ll get all competitive. :D
      Sub- 65 minutes would be nice, but I’ve been doing way less speedwork that usual so I am not sure how realistic that goal is. They are hosting weekly training runs on the course. Great way to get ready and strategize.

      • HollieisFueledByLOLZ April 9, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

        I didn’t know that, thanks! Living in Oswego, it’s not a far commute at all and would be worth my time. I would personally like be under 70 but we will see.

      • gda April 9, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

        Yeah sub-70 is probably all that I’ll be doing. Knowing the course even a little is extremely helpful come race day.

Leave a Reply

