Week Recap Sept. 29 – Oct. 6

7 Oct

Good day everyone!

Last week was a good week of running minus the head cold that I aquired Friday that killed any chances of running on Sunday.  Thus I ended up quite below my mileage total of around 52 miles thanks to being completely out of commission on Sunday, which is long run day.  However, I am reminded of the fact that even the pros miss training when they’re sick, so I’m not as bummed as I was Sunday when I woke up drowning in tissues with a pounding headache.  Monday of course is always a rest day for running and though Tuesday is typically speedwork, I’ll just run easy tomorrow and see how I do.  OK, enough about this week and let’s get to the stats of last week. :)

Week 41 Recap: (week number relative to the year)

(10.01.13) Tuesday: 16×200 on the track average 31 seconds/200m with easy 90 second 200 m recovery jogs. (6 Miles total)

(10.02.13) Wednesay: Easy 7 Miles along the Creekwalk and adjacent streets down in the city.  Very enjoyable workout!

(10.03.13) Thursday: 9 Miles with 4 Miles @ Tempo Pace (approx. 6:00/mile).  While I know that tempo pace should (for me) be no faster than say 6:10 or so, I’m trying to build as much
speed as possible, hence I ran the first two miles in 12:30 and the third and fourth in 5:39 and 5:38, respectively.

(10.04.13) Friday: 9 Mile Hill Run.  I knew this run would be on the hilly side of things, but I was not prepared for some of the steep 10% grade sections. :D  Here is a link to the elevation chart! 

(10.05.13) Saturday: 7 miles

(10.06.13) Sunday: Felt like death warmed over.  So yeah, zero miles).

Total: 38 Miles of the goal 52 miles

Lessons learned and things I’m glad I did / I’d do differently next time:

  • Eat better no matter how much of a sore thumb I stick out as.
  • Going easy on easy days is good.  Yields more powerful hard days.
  • Don’t shortchange effort and focus on easy “junk miles” though: they are equally as important as the speedwork and long runs.
  • Take more pictures on scenic runs and do a better log of my workouts.

Closing thoughts:

Great week under my belt leaving me just a few weeks out from the Eastwood Park to Park 5 MIle on 10/27.  Thanks for reading and have a great week!

gda

P.S.  Here are a few shots from the drive to/from my 9 mile hill run out in Homer, NY.  Gorgeous fog enveloped much of the drive!

photo (1) photo (2)

Leave a Reply

