Afternoon Snack

17 Oct

So I’ve been experimenting with eating more raw fruits/veggies than cooked food each day, and have thus far never succeeded in eating more than about 50/50. Well today I’m shooting for 60/40 (that is to say, I’m trying to eat more raw than cooked by at least a little bit). Thursday is one of two days each week where I spend the better part of the day at the community college. I’m not living in the dorms and therefore don’t have a meal plan, but often I’ll run to a local store and buy a bagel, bag of chips, or something cooked/baked for a snack between classes.
Well today I decided to have nothing but raw food for breakfast and lunch and eat whatever I want for dinner. To prevent myself from buying something between classes like usual, I purposefully left my debit card and cash at home, and instead brought this for my snack:

20131017-150236.jpg

6 Responses to “Afternoon Snack”

  1. Renard Moreau October 17, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    [ Smiles ] The best afternoon snack ever!

  2. Chocolate Covered Race Medals October 17, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    That looks spectacular! What a great idea!

    • gda October 18, 2013 at 4:07 am #

      It was delicious! And it worked well. :D

  3. Rachel October 17, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    What’s the green smoothie? How long has your raw food experiment been going on? Do you feel any different?

    • gda October 18, 2013 at 12:17 am #

      Hey thanks for the comment! I should preface my answer by saying that I’ve been vegan (and eating lots of fruits and veggies) for over two years, so the change in overall feeling isn’t as drastic for me as it would be for someone coming straight from an unbalanced, unhealthy diet. However in the last three weeks or so I’ve been consciously upping my raw food intake and decreasing my processed and cooked food amounts. I can truthfully say that I’ve observed a marked improvement in mood, energy and performance in my training. Therefore, this foray into the realm of an even healthier lifestyle will continue indefinitely!

      As for the smoothie: two cups spring water, one banana, one apple, one orange, 1 tbsp hemp seeds, and two big handfuls of baby spinach. Ultra simple and very tasty!

      • Rachel October 18, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

        Yes! Spinach! I love spinach and need to start adding it to smoothies now that berries are going out of season.

Leave a Reply

